reading

Reading…

Parade’s End came eight days ago. It was my first Book Depository purchase. In fact, it was my first online purchase.

Shopping online has, of course, nothing of the sensation I get when I’m browsing through bookshop shelves. It doesn’t matter – not every book has to be bought the same way. What matters is that overwhelming feeling of having THE book in my hands and anticipating its pleasures. I was extraordinarily happy upon receiving Parade – after all, the book was something I yearned for a couple of years now. It was certain I would dive into it the minute circumstances allow me (Van Gogh’s letters had to be put on hold, again) as it is certain I will be re-reading it soon, shortly after I finish it; only with more reflection and at a slower pace. This is not to say I am not reading it slowly at the moment because I am, I am enjoying it.. but I want more – I wish to savor it.

It came, as I said, a week ago and I could not be parted from it ever since. It is constantly there, on my mind, in my being, no matter what I do or where and with whom I am. I am all into it. Living it and loving it, I should say. It had not happened since I don’t know.. Woolf’s Orlando? Byatt’s Possession? Oh, I don’t have patience enough to bring myself to remembering which book was it the last time…

Finishing a chapter and gazing at the next inviting page I thought how wonderfully isolated I was. I had to bring myself out as if out of hypnosis, to become aware of the children playing on a trampoline in my neighbor’s yard or to hear mother watching television on a floor below… Just moments ago there was nothing. Nothing but Valentine trying to answer the phone while people are cheering on the streets – the war is over.. Astonishing how a book, how reading a book magically vanquishes one’s physical surroundings. Sometimes it happens with the first sentence and I am not aware of it but mostly (and especially when I’m reading outside) I can feel a sort of a glass-like sphere closing slowly around me. Turning down the volume of one world so I can pull the other one out of the pages.

2 thoughts on “Reading…

  1. “It is constantly there, on my mind, in my being, no matter what I do or where and with whom I am.”
    Yes!! That’s exactly it. I do so love Parade’s End, no other book has ever done that to me before. When I finished it it lingered for weeks. I saw one of those ‘greeting cards’ you see online and they described a ‘book hangover’ as unable to start another book because you’re still ‘drunk’ on the last one. That was how I felt for weeks after Parade’s End. Just incredible, so stimulating. Looking forward to reading more of your posts on it. :)

    1. I cannot properly describe how much I love it! Even though, as I wrote, I haven’t finished reading it yet. Which says a lot, I would think..
      It is certain I will be having a hard and long-lasting hangover myself. Hopefully I’ll be able to write about it..

      I just saw you have a poetry blog! Will have to check it out some time soon. :)

Leave a Reply

