reading

I’m sorry, Carson McCullers

If I’m to judge the day by its morning this reading year will prove to be less satisfactory than the previous one.

What for the job, and the preparations for my three months visit to Sweden (postponed until June) I am left with little time for reading. It’s not only that I have less time but, more importantly, I am regularly not concentrated enough on the book I’m reading. There are so many things occupying my brain at the same time that it’s hard to decide which train of thoughts to follow. It is even harder to stay focused on a train I happen to choose to ride.

It is such an annoying and disturbing issue… I cannot refrain from reading but, on the other hand, it seems I can not engage well enough.

I am sorry it happened with The Heart is a Lonely Hunter. It definitely deserved my full attention. I know I could have gotten much more out of it. The writing is beautiful in its simplicity. It’s clear. It’s tranquil and lyrical even with a couple of disturbing events that occur at some points. The story has depth, has complexity and universality. I will inevitably have to reread it one fine day…

 

( :/ These posts are getting shorter and shorter… )

2 thoughts on “I’m sorry, Carson McCullers

  1. I know the feeling, I has a decent start to the year but it has tailed off of late…there is nothing more wounding to the book lovers soul than such a predicament. My comments are getting shorter too and I need to change that.

    1. I haven’t read a thing for more than a week… I guess it just comes. The mind takes a short vacation.. Mine decided to come back today, after seeing the beautiful cover of Willa Cather’s Death Comes for the Archbishop.

Leave a Reply

