reading

The almost-incorrigible me

The previous five days or so I spent reading The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place series – the recently discovered books about mysteries involving a young governess and her three wolfish pupils.

Surfing the net on Penelope Lively and Penelope Mortimer, I stumbled on Penelope Lumley, the aforementioned governess, so I read a dozen blog reviews to see who she was, what it was all about and how it was received. I got excited since the books seemed to be the source of great fun. Unable to contain myself (even though there were more important things to do) I set on a mission to find every one of the four (so far) published titles. And, once found, they were not allowed to sit on the to-read list.

I read. Obsessively. And almost overdid it.

Once again, I was very close to clogging my brain. Or so it felt… Rescheduling long-time-appointed tasks (a blog post, replying to comments, writing letters to the potential employers etc.) to a permanent tomorrow, I read whenever I had five minutes to spare, an hour or a couple of hours of free time. No matter the mood, the sleepiness, the tiredness (I fell asleep more than once after a few sentences only) I watched my hand reaching the laptop… I was like an addict – knowing that what I was doing wasn’t good but lacking the will to do something about it. I just grabbed for more.

If it wasn’t for Cather, exempli gratia, I could have rightly assumed I can no longer read like a normal person.

Still, the series were fun; although not nearly as much as Harry Potter or The Moomins… One of the particular sources of enjoyment were Agatha Swanburne’s (the founder of the Swanburne School for Poor Bright Females, to which Penelope owns her good education) sage sayings:

When things are looking up, there’s no point in looking elsewhere.

It is easier to change one’s boots than to change one’s mind, but it is far easier to change one’s mind about whether or not to wear boots than it is to change the weather.

Patience can untangle the knottiest shoelace, but so can a pair of scissors.

Trust whom you like, but rely on yourself.

If both of your shoes are shined, your best foot will always be forward.

Doing one’s best is never cause for regret.

13 thoughts on “The almost-incorrigible me

  1. There is a certain romance to what you did, hiding away and ignoring the world, it is something that we readers dream of indulging in but it can escalate to obsessional levels and that can be worrying. I can only say I am envious.

      1. I never considered the danger in it, I think I would be like one of those people who would push myself to the edge…sort of like autoerotic asphyxiation but less embarrassing.

          1. Reading is sexy, lets face it. A scientific study has said that people who read automatically have 10% more sex appeal…there is no evidence for this but nevertheless I say it is scientific fact.

              1. Its rare I am called sexy so I will go for that, as long as people don’t want photo shoots and the like. I will not sell out, unless for a whopping amount of money of course.

                  1. Well I admit that would turn my head a tad, I would have to ask for one of those ladders on the rails so I can fly around my new bookshelves laughing manically.

  2. ‘Patience can untangle the knottiest shoelace, but so can a pair of scissors.’
    :) How true ….. I shall keep this in mind whenever next I find my patience starting to wear thin ;p

    1. It was so entertaining reading all these testaments of Agatha’s wisdom..
      I even made a list of all of them. :) Maybe I should send it to you – you might find more to keep in mind!

Leave a Reply

