reading projects

Anticipating!

There are a lot of different reading challenges all over the book-blogging community. I once tried to participate in a read-along. It didn’t go well – I read, reread the book actually, but was too lazy, too reluctant to write. And it wasn’t really a read-along since I failed to share my thoughts with other fellow participants… Other time, I self-imposed a certain challenge. Didn’t go well either. Then I came to the conclusion that such things are not for me.

However, learning about Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon (thanks to Ana) I was very eager and even happy to rethink my conclusion… The more I’m thinking the more I like it, the more determined I am to join in. It seems tailored to suit me: a whole day dedicated to reading whatever one chooses and there’s no pressure on writing a review. Staying awake until the wee small hours will be tough for I tend to fall asleep very easily (I believe I would fall asleep even if my life would depend upon staying awake). But:

A challenge it is! and I cannot wait for the October 18th!

Of course, I made a small list of suitable books to choose from – somehow reading only one book during the whole readathon doesn’t sound much fun. Currently, the list is as follows:

  • Death: The High Cost of Living, Death: The Time of Your LifeThe Ocean at the End of a Lane. Neil Gaiman
  • Moomins and the Great Flood. Tove Jansson 
  • The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency. Alexander McCall Smith
  • Witches. Roald Dahl
  • Charlotte’s Webb. E.B. White
  • Around the World in 80 Days. Jules Verne
  • The Wrong Box. R.L. Stevenson 
  • High Rising. Angela Thirkell
  • Something Fresh, My Man Jeeves. P.G. Wodehouse
  • Guards! Guards!/ Wyrd Sisters/ Equal Rites. Terry Pratchett

While I’m in such a good mood maybe I should give a more common type of a challenge a try – Read Scotland. Three reasons:

  1. I have already read one book that could be counted in and, Smith and Stevenson are on the list for readathon so, achieving a Highlander level (5-8 books) in seven months period should not be difficult.
  2. Being a sort of a Highlander sounds awesome.
  3. I’m trying to be an active member of book blogging community.

Here is the list:

  • The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie. Muriel Spark
  • Lord Jim. Joseph Conrad
  • Nineteen Eighty-Four. George Orwell
  • The Wind in the Willows. Kenneth Grahame
  • Miss Buncle’s Book. D.E. Stevenson
  • The Private Memoirs and Confessions of a Justified Sinner. James Hogg
9 thoughts on “Anticipating!

  1. I could never even come close. Too many distractions! My computer would wink at me all day with its green eye and I’d finally nudge it a bit. Get into WordPress or something and boom. An hour is gone. Light if any reading.

    One idea, especially as you feel your attention span wane, is pick up an essay collection or two from someone sassy. Always fun. Good luck!

    1. Distractions are powerful beasts but, in my case, they stand no chance with good books. :)
      I’m not well stocked with essays. I only have Montaigne. Any recommendations on sassy authors? (love the word, ‘sassy’)

      I was over at your blog a couple of weeks ago but had not much time to go through it thoroughly. I will stop by again one of these days for I love philosophy (more than the word ‘sassy’) and yet I’m not giving it as much of my time as I want to.

  2. Anna, I’m so glad your joining Read Scotland! The Alexander McCall Smith and R.L. Stevenson books you have scheduled for Dewey Readathon will count to! They are both Scots!

  3. Good list of books and some I am familiar with, the Gaiman books are great (recently I read the last Sandman book as well). Wodehouse is always great, Orwell, Verne, Conrad…Wind in the Willows…all great…I salute your mix of books. I may have to join in the 24 hours of reading challenge!

    1. Oh, do! It would be such fun!
      I always wanted to do nothing but read for at least a day. Wonder what will come out of it, but, with these books I think I’m on the right track..

      1. An eclectic mix always makes for fun, I wonder if I could devote a weekend to this as well at some point…any excuse to read and be alone really.

Leave a Reply

