reading projects

Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon

I am terrible at running this blog.

General exhaustion and consequent difficulty to engage in (shall I say almost?) anything of substance fell heavily on me. Also, having this neglected blog constantly on my mind was of no help. I was (and still am, to a degree) in a state of annoyance and powerlessness – able just to watch myself spend my precious free hours on nothing. Dreadful..

Today, however, I shall do my best to put everything aside because the anticipated 24 hours of reading are due to start!

The original reading list has changed (as lists usually do). Some of the books have been read during the course of the past five months, others simply do not appeal to me at the moment. The new, shorter list looks like this:

  • Death: The High Cost of Living, Death: The Time of Your Life. Neil Gaiman 
  • Jane and Prudence. Barbara Pym
  • Moominvalley in November. Tove Jansson
  • The Winter’s Tale. William Shakespeare
  • Around the World in 80 Days. Jules Verne

Starting off with the Moomins…

10 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon

        1. I would definitely recommend it! Nice of you to stop by and give support. Thank you. :)
          Next Readathon, I’ll be heading to your blog to see if you had joined and I will act accordingly – cheer if you did, try to persuade you if you didn’t. :)

  1. It is terrible when time goes by and the blog is left wanting but you will be back to it and I will keep popping by in the meantime. I look forward to finding out how it all went.

    1. You are as kind as ever, Steve.. I must say your comments and posts are the first ones I ‘deal with’ when I manage to push myself into responding to (not just reading) texts. Sometimes it happens they are the only ones.
      I really do have to get back on tracks!
      Will be over at your place one of these days – maybe as soon as tomorrow..

  2. I know that feeling too…. that sense of exhaustion and powerlessness to do anything (esp. abt the poor neglected blog) except to just let things be…. let them be carried along by the current of their own streams. Just take the rest that your body and mind needs.
    I just finished reading Sarah Waters’ “The Paying Guests” in record time (my personal record that is, considering how slow a reader I am!) because I just couldn’t put it down. It kept me reading into the wee hours of the morning, something that has not happened in ages (how I miss that feeling!). Just couldn’t put it down. Yes, it was that good. For me, at least. And if you think you might be up for something like that to kick start your engines again, try it. ;)

    1. Since I started working (almost a year ago) I feel more or less drained almost every day. I began to wonder how great a part in this exhaustion plays the fact that I am wired that way (as an introvert), and how much of it is me being too spoiled to accept that things are like that when you have a job..
      Ugh, leave it at that – no need to tire you with personal problems. :)

      The Paying Guest sounds very, very appealing! I am putting it on my list since, at the moment, I cannot find it anywhere and my book fund is low. I have read a couple of pretty favorable reviews and I have a feeling I’ll love it too. :)

Leave a Reply

