reading projects

Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon, part two

During the first half of the reading day, I was under a mild pressure created by reappearing thoughts on ‘required’ speed and the number of books I ‘should’ be reading. Later, to my great relief, I managed to vanquish those obnoxious intruders and, consequently, read in wonderful tranquility, having an occasional cup of tea, black chocolate, fruits or cakes.

I have to admit I slept for six hours. I haven’t even tried to stay awake. To add to this ‘waste’, good three hours were lost because we had guests for lunch and I had to socialize. I hardly spoke and spent most of the time wondering if it would be all right to excuse myself.

Although I had this Readathon on my mind for a couple of days before it happened, I was too unwilling and too disinterested in making any preparations. Had I given it a thought I believe the whole experience would have been pleasanter and more fun. Also, I am a little bit sorry for not participating in mini-challenges (Book Spine Poetry, Book Tower, Quotable quotes, Shelfie), for not sharing the experience more actively with others. Everything I have mentioned so far (the lost time, the pressure, the exhaustion) had its role in the decision to keep myself away from the Readathon community. I wanted to just relax and be on my own with words. All things considered, I had a good time and I’m definitely planning to participate in the next one (scheduled for the April, 25th).

I’ve managed to read four and a half titles:

  • Moominvalley in November – had a perfect Autumn atmosphere, was pure delight and just confirmed my love for Tove Jansson;
  • Death: High Cost of Living and
  • Death: The Time of Your Life – were engaging but failed to overwhelm me;
  • Jane and Prudence –  impossible to write about it since I am still not sure what to think of it. I do, however, know that I had enjoyed it;
  • The Taming of the Shrew – read half of it before, the other half during the event. What to say about Shakespeare? I’ll leave it for the next post.
2 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon, part two

  1. I admire yoyr lack of effort in preparation, no point in over thinking anything, I liked your thoughts on wondering how long is long enough to be considered polite, your thoughts on books are so familiar.

    The Death offshoots, weren’t particularly strong, I agree. Underwhelming but nice to have for the completest. The other three I shall have to indulge myself in at a later date, I look forward to your Shakespeare post.

    1. I agree in that there’s no point in over thinking. However, plain thinking is good.. :)

      Hope you will not find it disappointing – the post on Shakespeare – since it will be more personal than analytical; a sort of a glimpse of my relationship with him.

Leave a Reply

